Who is it for?
  • App Design
  • Art Direction
  • Biological and Marine Design
  • Ceramic and Glass Design
  • Consumer Products Design
  • Digital and Interactive Design
  • Digital Interface Design
  • Display Design
  • Fashion Accessories Design
  • Fashion Design
  • Furniture Design
  • Game Design
  • Gold / Silver Crafting
  • Graphic Design
  • Illustration & Interactive Design
  • Industrial Design
  • Image Design
  • Integrated User-Interface Design
  • Jewelery Design
  • Medical and Industrial Equipment
  • Print Design
  • Product Design
  • Textile Design & Development
  • Transportation Design
  • Toy Design
  • Typography
  • Wood & Metal Design
  • User Experience (UX/UI)


Application Period
End of Application Period
Preliminary Judgment
Selection of Winners
Preliminary Judgment
Selection of Shortlist
2022 Awards Ceremony


What does the award include?

Four winners will be chosen each year; two established designers, who will each receive an award of NIS 90,000, and two emerging designers, who will each receive an award of NIS 45,000. Winners will also be presented with an official statuette and a certificate, and their achievement will appear on the Award website.
The winners will be invited to an awards ceremony that will be held at the Tel Aviv Museum of Art in the presence of Baroness Ariane de Rothschild, representatives of the Edmond de Rothschild Foundation, the Steering and Judging Committees, overseas judges and senior design professionals in Israel. The event will be followed by a conference at which this year’s award field will be discussed.

What do I need to submit besides a portfolio?

The portfolio must be submitted together with a resume that includes education details, employment in the field, participation in exhibitions, awards, teaching, additional projects, etc.

Since the resume will accompany your portfolio, there is no need to specify your portfolio projects in the resume. In order for the Judging Committee to become familiar with and understand the nominees, we request that nominees enclose a short personal statement (up to one page) that shows their position on the body of work presented, their professional worldview, and any other relevant information that goes beyond the formal format of the portfolio and resume. In addition to the portfolio and resume, nominees must submit a copy of his/her ID, as well as his/her signature (of the nominee) on the Award Rules and Regulations.

What should the submitted portfolio contain?

The portfolio for nominees in the category of Established Designers must contain 10-15 projects, while the portfolio for nominees in the category of Emerging Designers must contain at least seven projects. There is no restriction on the duration or age of the project, but the portfolio must include at least one project from the last three years. Each project must specify for whom it was carried out, the year it was carried out and in what framework. If other designers were involved in the project, their names and role in the project must be clearly stated in addition to the nominee’s role.
Nominees may describe each project at their discretion, but it is advisable to expand on at least five projects by including a detailed description of the project, the workflow, sketches, research, a description of its actual implementation and impact, and any other relevant material that will help the Judging Committee understand the nature of the work. There is no restriction on the type or nature of the projects, but please take note of the field in which the award is granted each year. In 2020, the award will be granted in the field of Visual Communication Design.

How do I submit a nomination?

Nominations are to be independently submitted via the website, by filling out the Award Nomination Form and uploading required files: a portfolio, a signature on the Award Rules and Regulations, a designer’s statement, a professional resume and a copy of ID card.

Who is eligible to submit a nomination?

Designers (the entry must be in their name, not in the name of a company or studio), who are academic graduates (in design or other fields) and work in Israel. Designers up to the age of 40 may submit a nomination in the category of Emerging Designers, and designers aged 41 and above may submit a nomination in the category of Established Designers. The award applies to active designers only, not undergraduates. Graduate students, who meet the prerequisites, may submit a nomination.

Who selects the winners?

Each year, a professional Judging Committee will be assembled, which will appoint five leading figures in local design who represent different approaches in the 2020 award field (Visual Communication Design). The five judges will score all the entries and shortlist the nominees.
In order to ensure impartiality in the judging process, the judges will remain anonymous until the winners are announced. For the final judging stage, the Committee will be joined by a leading international judge in the field, as well as a representative of the Edmond de Rothschild Foundation. The seven judges will together select this year’s four winners.

What is the award given for?

The Edmond de Rothschild Design Award will be awarded to designers with a rich and unique body of work, recognizing their significant role in the formulation of contemporary culture and their contribution to the advancement of society and industry.
Special consideration will be given to designers with innovative and breakthrough portfolios with projects that have a meaningful impact on society, have been significantly implemented, extend the boundaries of the field, and have been created in a cultural context, reflecting diverse voices in Israeli society.